Giorgos Koutis wins the Major of Athens

On June 21 and 22, the Athens Major took place in Ilioupoli sports hall. 97 different players took part in the individual categories. with the exception of three foreigners (Eddie Belloto, Josef and Mauro Camilleri) all the others are from Hellas.
In the open category (60), Giorgos Koutis (on the picture with Malta’s Josef Camilleri) was the winner. Nikos Beis reached the final. Kostas Seses and Spyros Hantzaras the semi-finalists
In the veterans (21) Periklis Dimopoulos was the winner, beating Lazaros Papakonstantinou in the final. Chris Aggelinas and Panagiotis Haratsis were the semi-finalists
we also had women category (6). Dionysia Koulosousa was the winner. Arkos Falelakis won both under 15 (9) and under 12 (6) categories. Both times he faced Vaggelis Kotrotsos in the final.
In the under 19 (6), Nikos haratsis was the winner.
Day 2 we had the team competition. 15 teams competed for the throphy. The home team of Roligans beat Falcons on goals in the final. Serenissima and Atlas reached the semi-finals.

(Report by Chris Aggelinas)


Bjorn Kegenbein wins in Traiskirchen

Last week-end, 9 teams and 36 players attended the Open of Traiskirchen in Austria. The home team of TFC Wiener Neustadt took the honors in the team event as they beat the German side of Sparta Spreeathen 78/82 by a clear 2-0. Bjorn Kegenbein (Sparta Spreeathen 78/82) took his revenge in the Open category as he beat Erich Hinkelmann (Mattersburg) in the final while Christian Blümel and Marcel Kwiatkowski reached the semis. Erich Hinkelmann won the Mattersburg derby against Robert Lenz in the final of the veterans. The other individual winners were Marcel Kwiatkowski (U19), Fabio Bianco (U15) and Alwin Krause (U12). The ocnsolation tournament also counted as a WASPA event with 7 entries playing a group stage. Alwin Krause took the honors!


Perth International Open

PerthIO-Competitors PerthIO-Winner-GCFourteen players took part in the Open category of the first Perth International Open in Scotland on Saturday 14th June. Twelve players from local clubs Glasgow and Tayside were delighted to be joined by Colin Tarry, who made the trip up from London. A special guest, Subbuteo legend Mike Dent, also receives major plaudits for playing the day after his wedding in Edinburgh! Mike, originally from the local area, now lives in Malaysia and helps to promote the game there as coach with his club, Hartamas Tigers.

The tournament was played in great spirits and in a relaxed sporting manner, with some tense close games. In typical style, Steve Bennett, Scottish champion (1st seed), cruised to the semi-finals scoring 20 goals in 4 games to win his group. Tom Burns, second in the group also made the last four by going on to defeat Scott Fleming from Tayside, who clinched his group with a closely fought 3-2 win over 3rd seed Colin Tarry. Greg Dand progressed on ‘Goals Scored’ over teammate Gareth Christie (2nd seed) after a 0-0 draw between the pair in the remaining group.

Bennett and Christie also played out a thrilling 0-0 draw in the semi’s; Christie winning with a well-taken golden goal. Dand, competing in his first FISTF tournament for many years, was 1-0 winner in a close match against Burns.

In the final, Christie had the perfect start, winning the ball then scoring a precise looping shot to the back post, on his first possession. However, this was quickly cancelled out by Dand with a fine strike at the other end. There was little between the two players, but half way through the second-half, Christie opened Dand’s defence then scored with a long range shot into the corner for 2-1. Christie continues his run of Scottish IO successes with four wins in the last three seasons.

Open Winner: Gareth Christie
Runner-up: Greg Dand

The team event on Sunday 15th was a low-key affair with just nine players available making up three teams, two from Tayside and one from Glasgow.

However, there were some great games including David Baxter (Tayside B) leading twice against Christie (Tayside A) which ended in a 2-2 draw. New player Andy Beskaby (Tayside B) upset the experienced Tom Burns (Glasgow) with a 2-1 victory, which helped clinch second place overall for his team.

Team Winners: Tayside Kickers 91 ‘A’
Team Winners: Tayside Kickers 91 ‘B’

One more thing… The Scottish Table Football Association would like to wish newlyweds Mike and Tray all the very best for the future.

(Report by Gareth Christie)


Nicos Beis wins the Acropolis Grand Prix

Sunday, June 15th, the individual categories of the Acropolis Grand Prix were played with three categories in the agenda.

In the under 19 section, 4 players competed for the trophy. Manos Kapsambelis was the winner, Giorgos Vlassopoulos was second, Vasilis Nitis third and Michalis Apostolidis fourth.

In the veterans 16 players were present. Lazaros Papakonstantinou beat in the final Giorgos Aggelinas. Sotiris Korologos and Marcos Kapsambelis were the semi-finalists.

In the open category (44 players) Nicos Beis was the winner, Spyros Hantzaras was the runner-up. Kostas Seses and Dimitris Kosmopoulos were the semi-finalists.

In the team event of the saturday, 13 teams competed for the trophy. The final was close and the Falcons beat Roligans in the sudden death thanks to a goal of Spyros Hantzaras. Athinaikos and Olympia, reached the semi-finals.

(Report with the help of Chris Aggelinas)


Chris Short wins the Grand Prix of England


The FISTF Grand Prix of England took part last week in Enderby with a large field of 63 players from 12 nations. It was great to see many close games even if in the end the two top seeds of the tournament reached the semi-finals. At this stage, Chris Short beat Chris Thomas on shots while Mark Gauci beat Nathan Dupont (4-3). In the final, Short scored the only goal of the game in the sudden death to win the title. Other winners in the categories were Elliott Bellefontaine (U19), Connor Bowden (U15), Mauro Manganello (Veterans – picture below of the final against Jason Pisani), Margault Delval (Ladies) and Kye Arnold (U12).. In the team event, 14 teams took part. In the final, the Maltese team of Valletta beat the Belgians of AS Hennuyer (1-0) to catch the title.



Flores and Reggio Emilia are the kings in Bologna

The FISTF Major of Bologna took place on May 31 and June 1 in a beautiful sports hall in the nice city from the North of Italy. There were many players from foreign countries taking part and some surprising results. The Open category had only one Italian in the quarter-finals and in the end, there was a Spanish winner as Carlos Flores beat Giorgos Koutis (Greece) in the final while Samuel Bartolo (Malta) and Maikel de Haas (the Netherlands) lost in the semis.

The team event was an italian affair with four intalian clubs in the semis and the title for Reggio Emilia after beating Pisa in the final.

Paola Forlani beat Switzerland’s Trisha Baumeler in the ladies section. Leonardo Giudica was the best U12. Fabio Bianco from Germany was the surprising U15 winner. David Gonzalez from Spain defeated Antonio Peluso in the U19 final.

The veterans section was also dominated by Italians. Gianfranco Calonico beat Francesco Mattiangeli in the final!

Congratulations to all the winners.