Daniel Cranston wins “Flicko de Mayo”

Daniel Cranston arrived, saw, and conquered Michigan. He warmed up on Friday night by winning the Gideon Smith Cup, a 4-man WASPA event in East Lansing. In Saturday’s fifth edition of Flicko de Mayo in Rockford, Daniel scored an impressive 24 goals in five matches to claim the title.

For the third year in a row, the tournament was a FISTF Satellite/ASA/WASPA event. 9 players from Illinois, Iowa, Florida, Maryland, and Michigan made up a very competitive field that included five of the top 12 players in the ASA rankings.

After the first round of group play, two groups of three players were formed in the championship bracket and one in the consolation bracket. Defending champion Erik Haefke beat Dario Passadore 2-0 in a key Group A match to earn his third consecutive Flicko de Mayo final. In a reprise of their first round clash, Cranston defeated Haefke 5-2. Passadore took third place with a solid 3-2 win over in-form Ilias Gikas. Tim Tumminaro won the consolation group.

A highlight of the weekend was Chicago United’s win in the inaugural Great Lakes Cup team challenge: a decisive 2-0 victory over host Grand Rapids TSC. A great weekend of subbuteo, sportsmanship, and camaraderie!


Erich Hinkelmann wins the Satellite in Ebreichsdorf

A few weeks ago Austrias youngest Club, the TFKN Dragons, celebrated their second birthday. Their home tournament is the same age. The Anninger Cup , named after a mountain in their home region, was held last weekend.

This year the Anninger Cup was played as a FISTF Satellite. Besides a group of Dragons, almost every Austrian team was represented at Ebreichsdorf. With Erich Hinkelmann (TFC Mattersburg), Thomas Busch (TFKN Dragons) and David Busch (Master San Remo) three players from Austrias top tier participated. Erich Hinkelmann and David Busch did mange to go through to the final.

The final was a hard fight. David Busch put a strong performance to the table. But in the end the former worlds number 1 won. Erich Hinkelmann took the glory with an outstandig goal, which led to the final score of 2-1.


The U19 players

Next to the Open Category a Under 19 Competition was held. Jonathan Nichtenberger (TFC Wien West) showed his current top form and claimed the titel of the „nFusion Cup“ (Named after the Sponsor). With an unbeaten run he topped his group and defeated his teammate Marios Strommer 2-1 in the final.

The TFKN Dragons say thank you to all the participants and are looking forward to the Anningers Cup 2017 edition.

(Report by Thomas Eppensteiner)

Full results here: Satellite – Ebreichsdorf


Satellite wins for Pawsey & Finch!

The Enderby Satellites produced some tight games culminating in close finals over 2 days of play.

The Saturday saw a 16 man field end up with England & GSCD’s Justin Finch up against Ireland & Yorkshire’s Mark Farrell. An entertaining final saw the players deadlocked on 2-2 before going to shots where the England Legend Finch held his nerve to win 2-1 in the shootout.
In the youth categories it was Kent’s Joseph Kinrade who continued his good recent form with a 3-0 victory over Yorkshire’s Connor Bowden in the Under 19’s final whilst in the Under 15’s it was an all Kent final as Thomas Price beat Rhys Williams 2-0 to claim victory. The Sunday tournament had a smaller 10 man field but still some great games were had as London’s Dave Pawsey overcame Yorkshire’s Brian Daley 2-1 in a close final to win the trophy.

(Report by Terry Arnold)


Prantsoudies and Hytas are local heroes in Larissa

Larissa-Satellite-jan16-1Last week-end, the Greek club of Larissa was hosting a FISTF Satellite. 23 players were taking part, including guests from other clubs such as SBSC and Falcons. In the end, local start Evrepidis Prantsoudies was the winner, he defeated Christos Pitsaris in the final. Nikolaos Haratsis and Orestis Christopoulos were in the final four. Christos Hytas was the other winner of the week-end as he won the U15 final against Leandros Sourlas.

Full results here: Satellite – Larissa


First international victory for Adrian Davies


Martin Hodds, Veterans champion

Just before Christmas, 17 players met in Gillingham to attend the FISTF Satellite organized by Kent Invicta TFC. Players were dropped in three categories.

Adrian Davies from Wales defeated Gianpaolo Vitulano in the Open final.

Martin Hodds (Yokshire Phoenix) won the veterans final against Paul O’Donovan Rossa from the US.

In the U15 section, Daniel Mccormick was the winner of the day after a close final against clubmate Kane Stanford.


Cédric Garnier again!

The Satellite of Yokohama was held on December 30 with 12 players taking part. French player Cédric Garnier was the clear favorite of the day.


Finalists Koi and Garnier

Yokohama-sat15-1With no surprise he took the honors after defeating top Japanese player Kenzo Koi in the final (2-1). Karibo Miwa and Suguru Fujino were the other semi-finalists.


Massimo Cremona wins in Bormla

Bormla Sat-2015-2

Massimo Cremona (left) won the event

This week-end there was subbuteo action in Malta where the club of Bormla organized a FISTF Satellite. In the end, the final game was an affait between players representing foreign clubs. Massimo Cremona (Reggio Emilia) defeated Jean Carl Tabone (Stembert) to win the trophy. Josef Camilleri and Mario Camilleri were the losing semi-finalists.


Vassilis Koutsompinas wins in Heraklion

On september 25 and 26 the island of Creta was glad to hos a FISTF Satellite with players from several Greek clubs taking part. The final category had some great games and Vassilis Koutsompinas defeated Chris Aggelinas in the Open final (3-0). The semi-finalists were Thanasis Kaolgiros and Serafim Koulosousas. Chris Aggelinas finished on top of the veterans group of 6 players while James Liolios Jr was the best U15. The teams of Proteas Athens won the team event, finishing on top of a group of four.


Team event winner: the team of Proteas


Veterans champion: Chris Aggelinas